NÜ Car Rental of Puerto Rico should be avoided

Nu Car Rental shares an office with U Save Car Rental. Both should be avoided as both have horrible reviews. Their business models are based on bait and switch tactics.

https://www.yelp.com/biz/n%C3%BC-car-rental-carolina-3

NÜ Car Rental
Avenida Isla Verde 6772
Carolina, Puerto Rico 00979
787-791-1991
http://www.nucarrentals.com

Keep calm? Not possible with this car… by Jolie C.

Let me just start by saying that this place does not even deserve a one star I’d give them a minus twenty if I could. Thought I got a good deal through them and boy I was wrong. The hidden fees were more than double the price I got online. Finally, they bring up the car and I have to say my nephew’s 1998 Honda Civic was in better condition than the car they try to give me I mean it was like an old ford, power nothing all banged up and scratched up and the tranny was slipping. Returned it the moment I started driving and they gave me another older model Nissan Versa again power nothing. Hell I didn’t even know they still make cars with hand crank Windows. Do yourself a favor and please Just stay away from these guys!!!!!  total crooks!!!!!

Update…..
After going a few days without a car decided to go to the nearest enterprise rental and what a big difference customer service was amazing got a brand new car with power everything and paid the same price as booking so no hidden fees.  Next time I’m just going to avoid all car rentals in the isla verde area and go inward seems like they’re a lot more honest when you leave the tourist area.
Hope this review helps

I agree with everyone else….terrible company. We waited over a half an hour for the car rental shuttle. Upon arrival, we were standing in line and noticed that the man in front of us picking up his rental was visibly upset about his reservation. Then, the customer service agent informed us that we would be required to purchase their insurance for $24 a day despite already having comprehensive coverage with Progressive. On top of that, he expected us to make a deposit. While many or posdubly even most other car rental companies require deposits, I don’t know any other company that requires one to purchase the company’s insurance. You’re better off renting from a reputable company.

Do not rent a car from this company! Arrived into San Juan International and made my way to NU. Elite member at Hertz, but no cars available with my short notice. I travel over a 100,000 miles a year. So, I rented through Expedia believing this would be a credible car rental company.

The gentlemen at the counter explained I’m required to purchase insurance. I explained to him that I’m not required, My American Express rep told me to NEVER purchase as it voids their coverage. Then he asks me if I have my insurance card from home. No. I offered to call and get a copy, but he told me he needed it right then! My rental went from $125 to $286!

Listen, rent from a credible car company. This won’t happen to me again! Horrible business.

I made my reservation through Orbitz, once I arrived to the airport is had to wait and hour the get picked up. Once I arrived to the NU car rental office, there were no one at the counter, after waiting 15 minutes I started filling up the paperwork,  then went to inspect my car that was all ding up and the inside smelled like cigarette. I had to watch the guy doing the inspection like a hawk since he “mistakenly” skipped a few big dings in the car.  The car they gave me had 59K miles, seems a lot for a rental car. No costumer service skills. The whole ordeal took 2 hours for me to get in the car. Returning the car took 5 minutes.  Still waiting for them to release my $300 deposit.  If you can go with another company, so it. Go with the brand name rental car companies,  you may pay a bit more, but you will get better service.

What can I say about this piece of crap car rental place other then: do not book here! We booked our reservation over a month ago and we got to the airport we called the number that was sent to us per email  and it was not in service . we found the number on yelp ,called they said they’d be there in five minutes..  45 minutes later no one came to pick us up. We called again and they said they were closed and they are no cars available. Basically they left us so stuck in the middle of nowhere without a vehicle trying to get home!  One star because Yelp makes us put one. BEWARE!!

Please read ALL of the reviews, THEY ARE NOT KIDDING!!!! Wish I would have done so before renting……Horrible and Dangerous cars, the service is horrendous, they should truly be shut down!!!!!  Why?  The car was shaking if you push it past 60 and no shocks.  When we bought the car back, there was no one at the counter! Finally a young man comes in and no it wasn’t because he had gone to a bathroom break because it seemed someone that works “servicing” the cars was behind him telling him that the phones were ringing and that people were looking for him for a while. That was it, handed over the car and rented from a reputable place.  Not worth saving a few bucks!!

Run away as fast as you can. You are better of catching a bus than renting from these guys. We had too many issues to even list. They never answer their phone. The car was not ready. They participate in every form of pressure up selling. I would rather have given them 0 stars if that was possible.

I made a reservation for a $100 a week and had my personal insurance papers to show that my insurance cover my rental,  they said I had to take their insurance that I have no choice.  I left went to the airport and got a better deal with a competitor. If is too good to be truth is usually is. I would never come back here I wasted my time and my time is money.

BE AWARE OF THESE CLOWNS, THEY HAVE NO RESPECT FOR CUSTOMERS!

It’s a low quality car rental on which these jokers (the manager being the first one) expect you to solve their problems after charging you more for a crappy ride than other known car rentals. The cars are beat up and quick fixed with minimal maintenance done. After having reservations and being there, I just want to get on schedule so I had to take it.

When I returned the vehicle, the manager asked if everything was good. I answered that this car had some break issues and the a/c didn’t cool down as it should. He responded that “that was on me for not calling to go back there and get a different car” with no apology. Yup, their crappiness is my fault!!! I travel with my time scheduled and driving one hour each way to do this is a waist of my time. I have to stop my vacations to correct (if so) the problem from the crappy car, to most likely get another crappy car and play a never ending game of crappy car exchange. So what do I pay for? A beat up car and the worse possible customer service! Screw these clowns, I will stick to Budget and Enterprise car rental.

By the way, their economy car is a beat up Hyundai hatchback. Anything else you try to do to get a better vehicle will cost you big. So skip these jokers and go with a nation wide recognized company!

This business is operated very unprofessionally. Was hung up on the phone because the employee didn’t like what he was hearing. I suggest spending the extra money and going with a more reputable company. Enterprise in Condado was a much smoother experience. Never go with Nu Car Rentals.

This company is running a scam!  Their business model is based on getting your reservation with an artificially low estimate. They will charge double what you were promised when booking on carrentals.com, hotwire.com, or wherever you book. The itemized receipt  is cryptic and the employees are unable to explain what each little charge is actually for.

Price Was Doubled From What I Was Given Online! Should Have Read Reviews First, Listen To These Reviews. Don’t Do Business With This Company!

If Nu is the only agency in the entire country with a rental car available, do yourself a huge favor AND WALK!!!

DO NOT, let me repeat DO NOT rent a car from this business. We wasted about 2hrs even with a reservation and in the end did not take a car. The worst customer service I have experienced in a long time. The car they wanted to give us had faulty brakes so they were going to give us a mini van instead. Sounded ok to us but hold on – they wanted it back later in the day or tomorrow and with a full tank of gas – like I wanted to waste more time on vacation because of there bad cars. Then was the final straw we cancelled and went on Hotwire booked a car for about the same price and located at the airport.

And what they don’t tell you upfront is all the hidden charges:
Return the car before 8:00am a $30 fee
Express pass daily charge $6.95 whether you used it or not. The company we did go with only charges $3.95 for the days you use it only.

Please save yourself valuable vacation time and avoid this establishment.

I wish I read the reviews first and remember if it sounds to good to be true it is!

This place should be shutdown by the BBB!

By far the worst rental car service I’ve ever encountered. Been on multiple trips over the past 10 years and the cars-Yes multiple cars, since I had to replace my first rental- and this place gave me two junkers. The first car was a Kia and had bed bugs along with issues speeding up above 20mph. Switched car and was given a vehicle with over 70k miles. Car shook every time it went over 60mph on the highway and had a repugnant smell in the cloth so had to open windows for entire trip. DONT BE FOOLED BY CHEAP PRICES AND THE NAME…NU CAR RENTAL RENTS OUT OLD, USED VEHICLES WITH NO REGARD FOR SAFETY OF DRIVERS!!!!  AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Dont rent here! Price wasnt what i booked online. i dont know  how it went from $430 online to just about $800 when i arrived! This is a rip off! Scammers!! Ufff

DO NOT RENT A CAR HERE!!!!

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Wouldn’t accept my collision insurance through Allianz even though the website says they take it.

Wouldn’t accept my debit card even though It says on website it is accepted and I use it everytime I rent a car in Puerto Rico.

Lost electricity at their location as soon as I got there.

When they say Island time, this place means Island time.  This was about the slowest service I ever received from a car rental agency.  My nightmare started at 11 AM.  My typical experience with one takes about 5 minutes.  This place takes the cake for the second worst car rental agency I’ve ever dealt with (the first is one in Cancun, Mexico, and the brakes for the car I rented wasn’t working)!  Let me add that this place goes by two other names: Regional Car Rental and U-Save (I’m not sure what you’re saving, but it sure isn’t time).

First off, the shuttle took forever, but that wasn’t as bad actually trying to get your car from the service desk.   I was third in line, and everyone ahead of me was having issues.  The first lady was told that she wasn’t going to get a refund for any of the days she returned her car early, and the other guy appeared to not be able to use his credit card for some reason.  There was a couple that was only trying to return a car and discovered several charges that were not supposed to be made.  They said they waived the insurance, and the office had the signed waiver in their folder and still charged them for the rental insurance.  My confirmation e-mail only stated that I needed to show proof that my credit card would be taking care of the insurance, so I was hoping they wouldn’t need proof of insurance from my insurance company because I didn’t bother to bring it.

Well, when it came time for me it was about 12:30 PM, so my nightmare was still going.  I gave them my credit card and driver’s license at 12:00 PM, so it took them a while to make a photocopy of it, I guess.  An hour later I was told I needed my primary car’s insurance card.  Why the hell would I need that when it won’t cover any of the rental car anyway?  Luckily, I had an e-mail with the temporary card attached to it.  Thank goodness!  The deposit was $300 and takes about 3-5 days to disappear from your credit card’s activity, so they say.  The car took about 15 minutes to get.  The guy brought me the wrong car and had to go downstairs to get me another one.  When he came back, I received a dirty car, one fit for Pig-Pen.  There were  several dents and scratches and the tank was half full.  They said they could wash the car, but it would take time.  Oh, eff that noise!  I’m not waiting another 2 hours to see one guy clean my car in Island time.  My nightmare ended at 1:30 PM.  I’ve seen pond water and dead snails move faster than these guys.

And to top it all off, when I turned my car in, which was a much faster experience, the lady at the counter let me cut in line because she knew her ordeal was going to be her own nightmare.  Stick with the Hertzes, Avises, and Enterprises, people.  Don’t let the low price fool you; this place is NOT worth it.

Complete scam company. I filed a complaint with the BBB. Operates as/with SIXT and U-Save as well. You have been warned.

If I could give this company a negative rating I would.  Absolutely, do not use this rental company under any circumstances.  1) They company operates under three different names:  NU Car Rental, U Save Car Rental, and Regional Car Rental.  2) I booked a compact vehicle for 5-days at a rate of $65.00. However, according to the sales agent the rate you receive on Expedia or Hotwire is just an “estimate”.  By the time he finished explaining all the additional taxes and fees they want to add on the rate will double or trip.  For example, $7.95/day for second driver,  $11.95/day if you don’t bring a copy of your auto insurance card, and $9.95/day toll option. If you decline the toll option, they tell you that if you go through a toll and don’t have cash to pay they will charge you a $50 fee.  3) I think it is customary for most rental car companys to place somewhere between a $200-$300 hold on your credit card for the rental. This company insists on placing a $500 hold on your credit card ($1000 for Visa debit).

This is all before we’ve even seen the car or pulled out of the lot.  The car itself did not look bad from the outside.  It didn’t look great either though. There were a few scratches and dings which we noted on the inspection form.  However, the inside of the car was filthy, seats soiled, and there was a mildew smell inside.  Spilled stinky drink residue in cup holders and crumbs.  Unfortunately, this was a holiday weekend and I was unable to switch to another car company like Hertz at the last minute.  Moving on, once we pulled off the lot and started driving the car it actually stalled out a couple times.  The key FOB did not work either.

Back to the toll option we declined,  we were able to avoid the tolls until the last day of our trip.  It was only a couple dollars but what the rental agent failed to inform us is the toll agents won’t even accept cash if you are in a rental car with the toll transponder.  So, they made us go through anyway.

Seriously, this was the worst rental car ever.  Absolutely do not rent from them or any of the names they operate under.  They need to be reported to the BBB and removed from the list of recommended companies on Expedia and Hotwire.

Danny S.

West Haverstraw, NY

6/9/2016

Let me just start by saying that this place does not even deserve a one star I’d give them a minus twenty if I could. Thought I got a good deal through them and boy I was wrong. The hidden fees were more than double the price I got online. Finally, they bring up the car and I have to say my nephew’s 1998 Honda Civic was in better condition than the car they try to give me I mean it was like an old ford, power nothing all banged up and scratched up and the tranny was slipping. Returned it the moment I started driving and they gave me another older model Nissan Versa again power nothing. Hell I didn’t even know they still make cars with hand crank Windows. Do yourself a favor and please Just stay away from these guys!!!!!  total crooks!!!!!

Update…..
After going a few days with out a car decided to go to the nearest enterprise rental and what a big difference customer service was amazing got a brand new car with power everything and paid the same price as booking so no hidden fees.  Next time I’m just going to avoid all car rentals in the isla verde area and go inward seems like they’re a lot more honest when you leave the tourist area.
Jolie C.

Towson, MD

7/15/2016

I agree with everyone else….terrible company. We waited over a half an hour for the car rental shuttle. Upon arrival, we were standing in line and noticed that the man in front of us picking up his rental was visibly upset about his reservation. Then, the customer service agent informed us that we would be required to purchase their insurance for $24 a day despite already having comprehensive coverage with Progressive. On top of that, he expected us to make a deposit. While many or posdubly even most other car rental companies require deposits, I don’t know any other company that requires one to purchase the company’s insurance. You’re better off renting from a reputable company.

Kevin T.

Minneapolis, MN

2/6/2016

Do not rent a car from this company! Arrived into San Juan International and made my way to NU. Elite member at Hertz, but no cars available with my short notice. I travel over a 100,000 miles a year. So, I rented through Expedia believing this would be a credible car rental company.

The gentlemen at the counter explained I’m required to purchase insurance. I explained to him that I’m not required, My American Express rep told me to NEVER purchase as it voids their coverage. Then he asks me if I have my insurance card from home. No. I offered to call and get a copy, but he told me he needed it right then! My rental went from $125 to $286!

Listen, rent from a credible car company. This won’t happen to me again! Horrible business.

Angel L.

Fort Knox, KY

4/2/2016

I made my reservation through Orbitz, once I arrived to the airport is had to wait and hour the get picked up. Once I arrived to the NU car rental office, there were no one at the counter, after waiting 15 minutes I started filling up the paperwork,  then went to inspect my car that was all ding up and the inside smelled like cigarette. I had to watch the guy doing the inspection like a hawk since he “mistakenly” skipped a few big dings in the car.  The car they gave me had 59K miles, seems a lot for a rental car. No costumer service skills. The whole ordeal took 2 hours for me to get in the car. Returning the car took 5 minutes.  Still waiting for them to release my $300 deposit.  If you can go with another company, so it. Go with the brand name rental car companies,  you may pay a bit more, but you will get better service.

Nel R.

Beaumont, CA

2/3/2016

What can I say about this piece of crap car rental place other then: do not book here! We booked our reservation over a month ago and we got to the airport we called the number that was sent to us per email  and it was not in service . we found the number on yelp ,called they said they’d be there in five minutes..  45 minutes later no one came to pick us up. We called again and they said they were closed and they are no cars available. Basically they left us so stuck in the middle of nowhere without a vehicle trying to get home!  One star because Yelp makes us put one. BEWARE!!

Helen N.

Monroe, NY

7/19/2016

Please read ALL of the reviews, THEY ARE NOT KIDDING!!!! Wish I would have done so before renting……Horrible and Dangerous cars, the service is horrendous, they should truly be shut down!!!!!  Why?  The car was shaking if you push it past 60 and no shocks.  When we bought the car back, there was no one at the counter! Finally a young man comes in and no it wasn’t because he had gone to a bathroom break because it seemed someone that works “servicing” the cars was behind him telling him that the phones were ringing and that people were looking for him for a while. That was it, handed over the car and rented from a reputable place.  Not worth saving a few bucks!!

Brian C.

Adams Morgan, Washington, DC

6/21/2016

Run away as fast as you can. You are better of catching a bus than renting from these guys. We had too many issues to even list. They never answer their phone. The car was not ready. They participate in every form of pressure up selling. I would rather have given them 0 stars if that was possible.

Francisco M.

Vega Baja, Puerto Rico

1/12/2016

I made a reservation for a $100 a week and had my personal insurance papers to show that my insurance cover my rental,  they said I had to take their insurance that I have no choice.  I left went to the airport and got a better deal with a competitor. If is too good to be truth is usually is. I would never come back here I wasted my time and my time is money.

Lou S.

Jacksonville, FL

6/22/2015

1 check-in

BE AWARE OF THESE CLOWNS, THEY HAVE NO RESPECT FOR CUSTOMERS!

It’s a low quality car rental on which these jokers (the manager being the first one) expect you to solve their problems after charging you more for a crappy ride than other known car rentals. The cars are beat up and quick fixed with minimal maintenance done. After having reservations and being there, I just want to get on schedule so I had to take it.

When I returned the vehicle, the manager asked if everything was good. I answered that this car had some break issues and the a/c didn’t cool down as it should. He responded that “that was on me for not calling to go back there and get a different car” with no apology. Yup, their crappiness is my fault!!! I travel with my time scheduled and driving one hour each way to do this is a waist of my time. I have to stop my vacations to correct (if so) the problem from the crappy car, to most likely get another crappy car and play a never ending game of crappy car exchange. So what do I pay for? A beat up car and the worse possible customer service! Screw these clowns, I will stick to Budget and Enterprise car rental.

By the way, their economy car is a beat up Hyundai hatchback. Anything else you try to do to get a better vehicle will cost you big. So skip these jokers and go with a nation wide recognized company!

Mitch G.

Dallas, TX

10/19/2015

This business is operated very unprofessionally. Was hung up on the phone because the employee didn’t like what he was hearing. I suggest spending the extra money and going with a more reputable company. Enterprise in Condado was a much smoother experience. Never go with Nu Car Rentals.

Logan D.

Brooklyn, NY

7/19/2015

This company is running a scam!  Their business model is based on getting your reservation with an artificially low estimate. They will charge double what you were promised when booking on carrentals.com, hotwire.com, or wherever you book. The itemized receipt  is cryptic and the employees are unable to explain what each little charge is actually for.

Justin A.

Memphis, TN

6/6/2015

Price Was Doubled From What I Was Given Online! Should Have Read Reviews First, Listen To These Reviews. Don’t Do Business With This Company!

Dave H.

Marietta, GA

7/6/2015

If Nu is the only agency in the entire country with a rental car available, do yourself a huge favor AND WALK!!!

Melissa C.

Yardley, PA

2/28/2015

DO NOT, let me repeat DO NOT rent a car from this business. We wasted about 2hrs even with a reservation and in the end did not take a car. The worst customer service I have experienced in a long time. The car they wanted to give us had faulty brakes so they were going to give us a mini van instead. Sounded ok to us but hold on – they wanted it back later in the day or tomorrow and with a full tank of gas – like I wanted to waste more time on vacation because of there bad cars. Then was the final straw we cancelled and went on Hotwire booked a car for about the same price and located at the airport.

And what they don’t tell you upfront is all the hidden charges:
Return the car before 8:00am a $30 fee
Express pass daily charge $6.95 whether you used it or not. The company we did go with only charges $3.95 for the days you use it only.

Please save yourself valuable vacation time and avoid this establishment.

I wish I read the reviews first and remember if it sounds to good to be true it is!

This place should be shutdown by the BBB!

Pathik S.

Bartlett, IL

4/12/2015

By far the worst rental car service I’ve ever encountered. Been on multiple trips over the past 10 years and the cars-Yes multiple cars, since I had to replace my first rental- and this place gave me two junkers. The first car was a Kia and had bed bugs along with issues speeding up above 20mph. Switched car and was given a vehicle with over 70k miles. Car shook every time it went over 60mph on the highway and had a repugnant smell in the cloth so had to open windows for entire trip. DONT BE FOOLED BY CHEAP PRICES AND THE NAME…NU CAR RENTAL RENTS OUT OLD, USED VEHICLES WITH NO REGARD FOR SAFETY OF DRIVERS!!!!  AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Marisel G.

Newark, NJ

1/22/2015

Dont rent here! Price wasnt what i booked online. i dont know  how it went from $430 online to just about $800 when i arrived! This is a rip off! Scammers!! Ufff

Abdel G.

Midtown East, Manhattan, NY

10/1/2014

DO NOT RENT A CAR HERE!!!!

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Wouldn’t accept my collision insurance through Allianz even though the website says they take it.

Wouldn’t accept my debit card even though It says on website it is accepted and I use it everytime I rent a car in Puerto Rico.

Lost electricity at their location as soon as I got there.

Diane V.

Costa Mesa, CA

7/8/2013

When they say Island time, this place means Island time.  This was about the slowest service I ever received from a car rental agency.  My nightmare started at 11 AM.  My typical experience with one takes about 5 minutes.  This place takes the cake for the second worst car rental agency I’ve ever dealt with (the first is one in Cancun, Mexico, and the brakes for the car I rented wasn’t working)!  Let me add that this place goes by two other names: Regional Car Rental and U-Save (I’m not sure what you’re saving, but it sure isn’t time).

First off, the shuttle took forever, but that wasn’t as bad actually trying to get your car from the service desk.   I was third in line, and everyone ahead of me was having issues.  The first lady was told that she wasn’t going to get a refund for any of the days she returned her car early, and the other guy appeared to not be able to use his credit card for some reason.  There was a couple that was only trying to return a car and discovered several charges that were not supposed to be made.  They said they waived the insurance, and the office had the signed waiver in their folder and still charged them for the rental insurance.  My confirmation e-mail only stated that I needed to show proof that my credit card would be taking care of the insurance, so I was hoping they wouldn’t need proof of insurance from my insurance company because I didn’t bother to bring it.

Well, when it came time for me it was about 12:30 PM, so my nightmare was still going.  I gave them my credit card and driver’s license at 12:00 PM, so it took them a while to make a photocopy of it, I guess.  An hour later I was told I needed my primary car’s insurance card.  Why the hell would I need that when it won’t cover any of the rental car anyway?  Luckily, I had an e-mail with the temporary card attached to it.  Thank goodness!  The deposit was $300 and takes about 3-5 days to disappear from your credit card’s activity, so they say.  The car took about 15 minutes to get.  The guy brought me the wrong car and had to go downstairs to get me another one.  When he came back, I received a dirty car, one fit for Pig-Pen.  There were  several dents and scratches and the tank was half full.  They said they could wash the car, but it would take time.  Oh, eff that noise!  I’m not waiting another 2 hours to see one guy clean my car in Island time.  My nightmare ended at 1:30 PM.  I’ve seen pond water and dead snails move faster than these guys.

And to top it all off, when I turned my car in, which was a much faster experience, the lady at the counter let me cut in line because she knew her ordeal was going to be her own nightmare.  Stick with the Hertzes, Avises, and Enterprises, people.  Don’t let the low price fool you; this place is NOT worth it.

Tabitha C.

Evergreen, CO

2/19/2015

Complete scam company. I filed a complaint with the BBB. Operates as/with SIXT and U-Save as well. You have been warned.

Erica A.

Huntsville, AL

5/30/2014

If I could give this company a negative rating I would.  Absolutely, do not use this rental company under any circumstances.  1) They company operates under three different names:  NU Car Rental, U Save Car Rental, and Regional Car Rental.  2) I booked a compact vehicle for 5-days at a rate of $65.00. However, according to the sales agent the rate you receive on Expedia or Hotwire is just an “estimate”.  By the time he finished explaining all the additional taxes and fees they want to add on the rate will double or trip.  For example, $7.95/day for second driver,  $11.95/day if you don’t bring a copy of your auto insurance card, and $9.95/day toll option. If you decline the toll option, they tell you that if you go through a toll and don’t have cash to pay they will charge you a $50 fee.  3) I think it is customary for most rental car companys to place somewhere between a $200-$300 hold on your credit card for the rental. This company insists on placing a $500 hold on your credit card ($1000 for Visa debit).

This is all before we’ve even seen the car or pulled out of the lot.  The car itself did not look bad from the outside.  It didn’t look great either though. There were a few scratches and dings which we noted on the inspection form.  However, the inside of the car was filthy, seats soiled, and there was a mildew smell inside.  Spilled stinky drink residue in cup holders and crumbs.  Unfortunately, this was a holiday weekend and I was unable to switch to another car company like Hertz at the last minute.  Moving on, once we pulled off the lot and started driving the car it actually stalled out a couple times.  The key FOB did not work either.

Back to the toll option we declined,  we were able to avoid the tolls until the last day of our trip.  It was only a couple dollars but what the rental agent failed to inform us is the toll agents won’t even accept cash if you are in a rental car with the toll transponder.  So, they made us go through anyway.

Seriously, this was the worst rental car ever.  Absolutely do not rent from them or any of the names they operate under.  They need to be reported to the BBB and removed from the list of recommended companies on Expedia and Hotwire.

  • 12/28/2013
  • Do not use this company which also goes under Regional and U-Save. The car was not safe there were apparent issues that needed to be fixed. There was an immense amount of damage on the car and we had customer service issues. The owner Omar was in the back office but refused to come out and talk directly with us. Who has ever heard of such a thing? Rent from one of the more reputable agencies on the Island.  I have also heard of charges/payment issues. Omar you just lost our family’s business!
  • I only picked this place due to HotWire’s recommendation. I have to say this is the first day I have the car rental and it is the worse car I have ever rented. It’s has a cracked bumper which I was willing to overlook BUT…the car smells like mildew and in addition to that the car has roaches! It sounds as if the wheel is about to fall off. When I booked on line the rental was $70 for 4 days. By the time they told I had to get there insurance (which was not mentioned prior to booking) the total rental is $205. On top of that I just checked my bank statement and I have 3 charges on hold on my account. This place is unreal and car is unreal! I’m definitely going to write the company and the com about this place! #Hotwire should not associate with this place!
  • Do Not under any circumstances use this place!!!!! Horrible service.   We had a reservation and we still had to call for the shuttle to come and pick us up at the airport.  Once we finally made it to the place, we had trouble from the get go apparently they didn’t have the car we reserved so than we had to get sent to another place for a car and no matter what route we went we were screwed over paying way more than we should have been.  Again this place was horrible!!!
  • No, just NO.  If I could give this place a negative star, I would.  Just like the other reviewer, my experience was a nightmare.  Despite my reservation and confirmation which stated that I just needed my credit card and drivers license, the man at the counter (after over an hour of being shuttled between their locations) asked for my primary auto insurance. WTF?!?! I’ve never been asked for primary insurance after years of renting cars while traveling.  He then informed me that there would be a $500.00 deposit.  I pointed out to him that I wasn’t using a credit card not a debit card so there should not be a deposit of that size required.  He insisted that their policy requires deposits between $500 and $1000.     Tempted to just pay the deposit and get out, my spidey sense began tingling…so I pulled out my phone went to Kayak and reserved a car at Enterprise for 3.00 more per day.  The moral of the story is to stick with the main rental company’s.  Leave this back alley rip-off company alone.
  • I too made a reservation with U-SAVE only to get there and have them tell me they have no cars so they pass me over to regional car rental who then proceed to over charge me for so called road side assistance. I argued to no avail. however I  American Express to reversed the over charge. If you want a good deal STAY AWAY FROM THESE THIEVES
  • Bad experience, don’t rent a car from here. Didn’t honor our price refered me to  You Save which to my under standing is a bate and switch operation. From the number of complaints I do believe that com is aware. Rent some other way,maybe PriceLine.com
  • This place sucks. Dont rent here. I booked through com and then got rate jacked on arrival. The guy just looked at me and said it was just an estimate…how can. They not know what their rental fees are? Plus my car was a wreck…
  • I have to say I agree with all of the other reviews I have read. I wish I had seen these before renting. The shuttle at the airport isn’t in the same place as all of the other rental car shuttles. It’s not clear at all actually where they’re going to pick you up from. I walked down to the rental car office and asked someone inside who worked for a different agency. They told me where to go to be picked up.The car itself was okay. It did have some scratches on it, but no bad smells or anything like that. I bought the extra insurance because i didn’t have my insurance information with me. However, I declined the toll tag fees. I avoided any toll roads that I could, but one day decided to drive to the West side of the island to check it out. I couldn’t avoid the toll roads on the way there or back. When I tried to pay the toll in cash, I was told by the lady that I couldn’t because the toll tag on the car was already activated and had already been photographed. She said the rental car companies don’t really explain that to customers, but that I’d have to take it up with them. I’m worried I will see extra charges from the rental company for these, but they did not explain this to me.I called the day before leaving because my flight was leaving at 7 am and I wanted to make sure someone would be there for me to return the car. Normally I wouldn’t do this, but since they were a small rental company in the middle of nowhere, I didn’t want to take my chances. Good thing I called because their office doesn’t open until 8 am. I was told I could leave the car in the lot and pay for a taxi to take me to the airport or I could leave the car in the parking garage at the airport, which would cost an additional $30. I was told I’d have to let them know in advance if I was going to leave the car at the lot. So once I had decided what to do, I called their office. I literally called 30 times and got either a busy signal or no one picked up. Finally, I called their corporate line and they suggested I email the office. Eventually after telling their corporate office that I didn’t want to send an email, I wanted to talk to someone in the San Juan office,  I received a phone call a few minutes later from a U.K. number giving me instructions on where to leave the car. Overall, I’d recommend that no one ever rent from this place ever!!! Stick with National, Hertz, Enterprise, or any of the other larger companies. You won’t save any money, and this company is a pain to deal with.
  • Oh my god DO NOT RENT HERE!!! I wish I had seen these reviews first. First of all, we waited for over an hour at the airport for their van to pick us up. Avis, dollar, thrifty, all of the other vans drive by twenty times and we kept calling and every time they said five minutes. By the time they picked us up and brought us to their ghetto lot (which is in the middle of nowhere) we had already wasted an hour and a half. When we got to the office there was only one couple before us but it took over a half hour for them to check out. We overheard the whole interaction and they bullied and lied and cheated this German couple out of a thousand more than their quote said. They basically add hundreds of dollars to each reservation and you have no option but to take it because you are in the middle of nowhere already with no options. They saw a huge line forming but kept acting like they had all day to mess with the German couple until they agreed to every charge. When it was finally our turn they did the same to us. Our reservation quoted $100 but they tried to add hundreds of dollars in taxes and bogus fees and insurance. When we refused they just said we had no choice. Most people just take it because they already have you trapped there but we left. We overheard other people making calls trying to figure out how to get to another rental place too. After two and a half hours the last thing we wanted to do was find another rental but we could tell they would try to screw us at the end when we returned too. We ended up walking to the ritz Carlton where they have enterprise cars and got one for less than we would have walked away from nu car paying. We still wasted hours of our time and this company should be shut down.

HIDDEN REVIEWS

    • Nicole P.
    • Fenton, MO

9/11/2016

No star deserved! My rental with Nu Car Rental in San Juan is the worst experience I’ve ever had with any car rental company. I made the reservation for an airport pick up through Car Rentals.com and I was quoted $197.79 including all fees for a Toyota Yaris or similar. Upon arrival at the airport, we learned that we had to take the shuttle to pick up the car. The car ended up being a Ford Focus in pretty bad shape, all scratched up, dirty, and with a faulty transmission. This car was the only choice we had, so we ended up taking it and fearing every minute of driving. The charge ended up being $223. We delivered the car at the end of the trip with a full tank and left Puerto Rico. More than a month later our credit card was fraudulently charged $57. We contacted the company, but no refund was issued. We had to open a dispute ticket with the credit card co. NEVER RENT from NU CAR RENTAL!!!

    • Andy R.
    • Sanford, Orlando, FL

7/13/2016

One Star is too much.  Do not rent here. They gave me a car without brakes and by the time I noticed they stopped picking up the phone. I had to park the car for the weekend because they do not have an emergency number or a tow company and they were not open due to a holiday. I called Orbitz (where I booked) and they were of no help because my orbitz car rental “insurance” only covered collision not mechanical damage. Orbitz could not reach them either. I called NuCar Rental in the US and they apologized and said “yep, they do not have a contact number. Just rent a car elsewhere and send the car via tow truck to them. He also said I needed to pay for the tow and the local company would decide if they reimbursed or not. By the way, this place does business (same staff and cars) under 3 names. Sixt, Nu and something else.

    • Julia B.
    • Silver Spring, MD

2/24/2016

Avoid this place.No customer service, dirty smelly cars.

First time I had to deal with them and this is the last time for sure. First I was overcharged almost 100$ more than my original reservation. I still took a car hoping to figure out later what’s happening with those charges. Oh my – the car they provided had 46K miles on it (for rental thats a lot) and it was just bad, almost not drivable, the wheel was shaking so bad. The car was dirty and smelly. I was going to request to change the car next day.

Then it turned out they charged me extra day because instead of 4pm I picked up a car at 3pm. Again it does not have to be an issue if it is communicated instead I had to go over the whole contract to see where the charges are coming from. When I tried to talk to the representative from that NU place (his name was Y. Allevende or something like it) the response I got was “if you don’t like us – go somewhere else.” I could not believe it. I returned the car next day (I rented it for two weeks). They still tried to charge me for “what I used” for one day. I ended up getting an official cancellation from online company I booked it with and disputed the whole charge with my cc.

    • Lori D.
    • New City, NY

12/3/2015

This was my first and last time ever renting a car from this company. The car rental was done with Expedia. The company cancelled my reservation since I did not show up exactly the time the reservation was booked for, even with delays in the flight, luggage etc. They did provide a shuttle to the office. The driver even advised the office that they had us and we were on the way to get the car. Upon arrival, the reservation was cancelled. The rep. did not care or have any interest in finding an alternate car. Expedia was not able to offer any assistance either. Still waiting for Expedia to call me back with another rental. DO NOT USE!!! Other sites available for comparable costs and able to deliver the vehicle as reserved. Booked a car with another site and no issues. Other sites are able to deliver a car with comparable costs, professionalism and courtesy towards their customers. First and last time. DO NOT USE!!!!!!

    • Christine W.
    • Madison, MS

7/10/2015

I read reviews on EVERYTHING, yet for some reason I didn’t think I needed to with a car rental.  I felt like that is pretty standard service— NO.

I called after I got my luggage and the rep was very rude.  The shuttle driver was nice.  The guy working the counter was trying to add on charge after charge making the fees so much more than what it was originally online.   We agreed to $5 per day upgrade to get a car with 4 doors since we had an infant and carseat.

We got a Kia Forte with 45K miles on it, and it was incredibly dirty inside and out. The worst part was that it wouldn’t start when we were an hour away from our hotel visiting a locals beach.  We had to try to find someone to jump start us… at a beach.  I sat outside a broke down car with a crying baby because our car wouldn’t start.

This POS broke down 3 more times and finally we returned it for another car.. ANOTHER Kia Forte with 45K miles.  We only had one day left so we took it.

Overall very frustrated— do not rent here.  Pay another more reputable company– The fees at NU will end up being the same after they nickel and dime you, anyhow.

THE POSITIVE:  When we returned our car, the representative was different, and very understanding.   He helped us quickly and kindly, and even refunded us the upgrade fees we paid.

    • Glenda H.
    • Tenleytown, Washington, DC

2/24/2015

NEVER rent from this place!!!!

Nu Car Rental should be called NO Car Rental.  I rented a car from NU in San Juan shortly after Christmas 2014.  While it was high season in the island, their rates were much higher than everywhere else but I was desperate for a car .  They charged me over $800 for 4 days and when I got there I was given a very small, old and beat up car.  When I turned on the car, I told the sales person that the car didn’t sound alright not to mention the awful vomit odor that permeated the car.  He dismissed me saying that was what I rented.  Once more, I needed a car so I left with the car.  Thankfully, I didn’t have to drive it much the first two days but when I did finally use the car on the third day, the car was operating without brakes!!!!!   I was with my young daughter at the time, driving in puertorrican traffic and there were no brakes!!!  I parked the car at the local mall and demanded a new car because I could have killed myself, my daughter or others with a car in that condition.  They sent an employee with a new car but he claimed not to know that my car had no brakes.  The poor employee had to drive the car back in that condition without warning from NU.

You would think that after an incident like that where my daughter and I could have gotten killed, they would have apologized and offered me a discount of some sort for my troubles.  However, to my dismay, no such apology was ever offered and when I asked for a discount I was told it was my fault because I drove the car out of the lot without trouble and the brakes malfunctioned under my care.  Needless to say, I could not believe such treatment.  It is a shame this place is still in business.  They are giving the island and it’s people a bad name.

The moral of the story is NEVER use Nu Car Rental!!!  It is not worth risking your life with a bad car, jacked up rates and terrible customer service.

    • Longino O.
    • Toms River, NJ

12/23/2014

I reserved a car online located at Isla Verde Avenue, Carolina PR and was given a price for $222.03 for two wks. 1) they didn’t want to look at my itinerary 2) didn’t wanted to accept my insurance nor wait for me to call my insurance to provide them with my information 3) wanted to charge us $9.95/day for tolls; weather we use it or not; we explained that we are going to be in the south of the island and was sure that we wasn’t going to use the tolls. He refused to listen..WHAT!!!. and we was told that if you decline this option & go thru a toll without paying they will charge $50 fee…REALLY!!! 4) by the time they finish adding all their fees; the car rental was about $666. TERRIBLE!!! 5) We refuse to rent the car from them and asked to give us another rental company…he ignored me and ripped the paperwork. We were just left there to fend for ourselves. OMG!!. Very, very poor service. I will not recommend anyone to rent a car from them. Thanks to the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Juan, they really helped us out.

    • Sebastien D.
    • Québec, Canada

1/13/2014

Seriously… DONT DO IT!

At first, they were very less expensive than the next lowest rate I find… so I thought to myself: “who cares if there is some hidden fees: this cant be THAT bad!”. Little did I knew….

After booking, I read some review and was kinda worried. Some people told that they were forcing people to take their expensive insurance if you dont have any paper proof of personal insurance, so I was ready: I did print all my credit car terms about car rental and did a photocopy of my own car insurance as well.  So I was able to deny their insurance. (So be prepare if you already booked with them: bring all the papers otherwise you’ll HAVE to pay their insurance!!!!!)

After, they told me the tax are not included (even if I had already booked online and the total was showing!). Tax are low, so I didn’t care… but they are adding some hidden fee as well: They will add a “3$/day” over the top as “ERS tax” (they told me later that this was a fee for “Emergency Road Service”). On top of that, you will have to pay 5$/day for the AutoExpreso Pass (others company charge 10$ for the WHOLE location or they includes this in the price, NU Car charges 5$/day!!).

Total, even before starting the car, my invoice was more than 60% higher than the one quoted online… so it was about the same as others company like Charlie Rental Car.

But if only it was just this…

Their fleet is not in good shape at all. My car was all scratchy (I didnt really care, I just made sure that every scratch was reported and I did record all the car with my phone),  there was also a big piece of plastic of about 15 square inches missing in the dash (I didnt care neither, as long as it was reported!) and the key was a bit twisted (I didnt notice first: who the hell inspect the key when they received a car?!)… but 4 days later, without even forcing the key, it just broke in the ignition. I was 300km away from San Juan and I called (long distance call) to the office. Was put on hold for 15 minutes before hanging up.  Hopefully, I was able to start the car anyway using the 2 pieces of the key and drove back  San Juan.

The next day, they told me this was the sole set of key (huh?), and that I needed to go to a locksmith myself even if there was others cars not being used (they could have just give me another car and take care of this problem themselves). So I went to te locksmith thinking it will cost me maximum 50$. Again… little did I knew: there was an electronic chip in the key, and it costs me 300$. I had to try to solve this myself with minimal spanish skill, and I lost 2 hours there.

Also (yep, this ain’t over!), I wasn’t able to start the car about 5 times during the whole trip. Hopefully, with minimal knowledge about cars, I was able to figure out what was the problem (a connection to the battery was a bit loose) and just shaking the negative wire a bit was enough to solve the problem and start the car.

When I returned the car at the end of the week and told the manager about all this, he was arguing about everything: he told me I should have call before (I did call three time during my trip) and told me I should have come to the office first about the key (which I did) instead of going to the locksmith. I told him his employee told me to go to the locksmith and he even told me which locksmith to go. After I saw that employee coming in the shop and after he confirm that I called and that he told me to go to the locksmith, the manager told me “let see what I can do”… and gave me a stupid 15$ discount! LOL!

Hopefully, my wife and I are positive persons and this didnt ruin about trips: we ended up laughing about it. Overall, it costs us about 375$ more than expected for this car. At least we have some extra story to tell I guess! haha!    But for a lot of people, this could totaly ruins a trip.

Overall, my experience with Nu Car was expensive, the car was bad, it was stressful at some moment, I lost tons of time (trying to start the car on various occasion, or waiting at the locksmith!), the customer service was close to none..

Please, do yourself a favor and use another company like Charlie Car or any major company: you will end up paying the SAME price after the hidden fees of Nu Car, and you will have a waaaaay better car, a better customer service and no scam! WHATEVER THE PRICE THEY QUOTED, TAKE ANOTHER COMPANY! The quote ain’t the real price you will end up paying anyway, even if you are able to dodge every problem with their cars!

They also goes under REGIONAL CAR RENTAL and U-Save. Avoid them!

    • Jayceon T.
    • New York, NY

10/16/2015

First time renting with them, and it sure it would not be the last time! Agent was pretty nice, can’t remember his name. Prices very low, Easy Pass for tolls is optional but a must because in Puerto Rico all the tolls are automated, overall I’m giving them 4 stars because of the car that had scratches.

This entry was posted in bad businesses and organizations to avoid, transportation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NÜ Car Rental of Puerto Rico should be avoided

  1. Anonymous says:

    Nucarrentals does not own the locations, they are Affiliates, and Nucarrentals takes reservations for the locations. The company U-Save no longer owns that rental location. So try the new guys in town and see how they have improved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

